NIU, Judson Presidents Named To Committee On Campus Opening Plan

From a news release: Following the release of Governor JB Pritzker’s Restore Illinois plan, the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) has convened a committee to shape guidance on how campuses across the state can open safely this fall semester amidst the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The University of Illinois System, with its deep scientific expertise and on-going statewide work related to COVID-19, will ensure the committee has access to the latest public health research and guidance with a lens that is uniquely focused on higher education.

The committee includes:

o IBHE Executive Director Ginger Ostro
o Representatives of Illinois’ public universities

  •  Northern Illinois University President Lisa Freeman
  •  University of Illinois President Tim Killeen
  •  Southern Illinois University President Dan Mahony
  •  Chicago State University President Zaldwaynaka “Z” Scott

o Representatives of Illinois’ private colleges and universities

  •  Judson University President Gene Crume
  •  Loyola University President Jo Ann Rooney
  •  Northwestern University President Morton Shapiro
  •  University of Chicago President Robert Zimmer
  •  Federation of Independent Illinois Colleges and Universities President David Tretter

o Representatives of Illinois’ community colleges

  •  City Colleges of Chicago Chancellor Juan Salgado
  •  Illinois Central College President Sheila Quirk-Bailey
  •  Lincoln Land Community College President Charlotte Warren
  •  Rend Lake College President Terry Wilkerson
  •  Illinois Community College Board Executive Director Brian Durham

o Dean and Provost of the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine Jerry Kruse